Hotel Review: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Hotel Review: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Hotel Review: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
16 Flares Twitter 16 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Pin It Share 0 StumbleUpon 0 Reddit 0 16 Flares ×

Hotel Review: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

.

Spread out over an amazingly beautiful 27 acres in the middle of the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka, the Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is set amongst the lush greenery of Sri Lanka and provides a comfortable, luxurious and centrally located accommodation. Away from the noise of Columbo, the traffic and the hustle and bustle, Cinnamon Lodge Habarana allowed us to relax, recharge and revive our passion for travel before heading out to explore the country.

Small bungalow like rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and private feelings. The grounds are covered in beautiful gardens, green is everywhere with a perfect mix of flowers, plants and pathways seamlessly leading around the property. Warmly welcomed by the caring staff, guests are greeted with a welcome drink and flower before heading to their rooms.

.

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 10.27.59 AM

.

The restaurant and bar are open spaced, laid out by the pool on the vast green grounds. The food was maybe the best part about our entire stay at Habarana. A complete mix of local, western and Asian foods, there is something for everyone and no one will ever leave hungry. We enjoyed the open air eatery and especially the live music pouring over from the bar area.

Aside from the beautiful grounds at the hotel itself, there are endless activities close by including our favorite excursion in Sri Lanka, our elephant trek into the vast Kaudulla National Park where we finally, for the first time, saw a complete herd of wild elephants in their natural habitat, a truly stunning site to behold.

.

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 10.27.51 AM

.

We never expected to see such vast greenery in Sri Lanka, and while we should have expected all the natural beauty, it was amazing to explore and discovery the wonders that Sri Lanka had in store for us.

Warmly welcomed back to the Cinnamon Lodge Habarana we spent the evening around the bar, enjoying drinks with new friends and listening to the great live music.

The only downside of our experience was the wifi speed, which was sparse and slow at best and nonexistent at worse. Unfortunately we never came across perfect internet or wifi anywhere in Sri Lanka, so the internet at Habarana is no worse than anywhere else, but just know going in it will frustrate you. Luckily there is so much to do you shouldn’t be worrying about being connected anyway.

.

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 10.28.24 AM

.

Many choose to travel around the world and stay in luxury hotels in major cities, rarely venturing into the heart of the countries they are visiting. Take the chance, leave the comfort of the cities and travel into the sole of the country you are visiting. Cinnamon Lodge Habarana provides all the comforts of home, the kindness you long for while away from home and experiences you never could have imagined.

.

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 10.28.41 AM

.

.H . jeffjohnsheadshotJeff Johns is the co-founder and editor of Latitude 34 Travel Blog. Through 65 countries on 6 continents he has accumulated a seemingly endless stream of odd information, interesting stories and helpful tips and tricks to better travel. Jeff’s goal is to visit all 204 countries on Earth before he is too senile to remember them all. A graduate of the Visual Journalism program at the Brooks Institute, his true passions lay in honest visual storytelling, documentary filmmaking, Thai food and a good laugh. Together with Marina, they run Latitude 34 Travel Blog as a source of helpful information for those who love to travel or those who simply dream of it. If you have a comment or suggestion, send them an email at hello@latitudethirtyfour.com and they’ll respond super fast! 

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply


CommentLuv badge